Recognizing the contribution
of TICO’s Directors

Directors make a lasting contribution to TICO and to Ontario’s travel industry more broadly. I would like to extend my gratitude to TICO’s Board of Directors, and to our outgoing Directors, who have shown tremendous commitment to oversight of TICO and its important consumer protection mandate.”

Jean Hébert, Chair

TICO’s Board of Directors has the important job of providing governance and oversight over the organization, including its strategic direction and overall risk management. A prior governance review recommended reducing TICO’s Board of Directors from 15 to 11 members. That change took effect following TICO’s AGM on June 25, 2019.

TICO welcomed three new Directors and said farewell to seven outgoing Directors.

Following TICO’s AGM, the Board of Directors elected Jean Hébert as Chair and Scott Stewart as the Vice-Chair of the Board. As per TICO's by-laws, the term is three years for the Chair position and one year for the Vice-Chair position.

The following individuals were appointed to TICO’s Board of Directors:

  • Ted Goldenberg – Ontario Motor Coach Association (OMCA)
  • Sherry Scott – Association of Canadian Travel Agencies (ACTA)
  • Scott Stewart – Ministerial appointee
  • Leanna Villella – Ministerial appointee

The AGM was also an opportunity to recognize the commitment and impact of seven outgoing Directors:

  • Khatera Akbari
  • Jim Diebel
  • Louise Gardiner
  • Warren Kanagaratnam
  • Lorraine Nowina
  • Richard Vanderlubbe
  • Brett Walker

TICO’s Board of Directors 2019-2020

Nicole Bursey
Commercial Director
Transat Tours Canada
Toronto, ON

Richard Edwards


Travel Corporation Canada

Toronto, ON

Mike Foster


Nexion Travel Group – Canada

London, ON

Ted Goldenberg

Vice President

Chapman Cultural Tours Ltd.

Richmond Hill, ON

Jean Hébert – Chair


Ottawa, ON

Ian McMillan

International Marketing Specialist

Destination Northern Ontario

Sault Ste. Marie, ON

Marc Patry
CNH Tours
Ottawa, ON

Sherry Scott
Vice President, Government Affairs, Procurement & Facilities
HRG North America
Ottawa, ON

Scott Stewart – Vice Chair
G. Stewart Travel Services Ltd.
Peterborough, ON

Robert Townshend
Total Advantage Travel & Tours Inc.
Toronto, ON

Leanna Villella
Rose City Travel Ltd.
Welland, ON

Next page: Registrant engagement